Earth Day ChallengeScreenshot-for-website

The CEF Earth Day Challenge is a video contest for elementary and middle school (grade K-8) classes. The contest encourages students to explore their world using chemistry. Participants must create videos identifying and explaining a chemistry-related concept and sharing how people use this concept in real life to address an environmental issue.

SOCMA Educational Outreach Award

2014 SOCMA award

Congratulations to Monument Chemical of Brandenburg, KY, for winning the 2014 Educational Outreach Award! Monument’s broad educational outreach has included volunteering at the MacDonald Intermediate School “STEMposium” event in Fort Knox, providing local teachers with free hands-on science activities, and sponsoring the You Be The Chemist Challenge® at the local, state, and national levels.

The SOCMA Educational Outreach Award, created through a partnership between CEF and the Society of Chemical Manufacturers and Affiliates (SOCMA), was awarded annually to the SOCMA member company that demonstrated the greatest educational impact as a result of its outreach initiatives. CEF no longer offers the Educational Outreach Award.

The Vanguard Award

The Vanguard Award recognized and honored the outstanding efforts of an individual who exhibited leadership and commitment to fostering the public’s understanding of, participation in, and general appreciation of chemistry, chemicals, and the chemical industry. CEF no longer offers the Vanguard Award.

Past Vanguard Award Winners include:

2013 – Andrew Liveris, Chairman & CEO of The Dow Chemical Company 2013
2012 – Stephen R. Clark, retired CEO of Brenntag AG
2011 – Gregory S. Babe, President & CEO of Bayer Corporation and Bayer MaterialScience LLC
2010 – Norman R. Bobins, President of Norman Bobins Consulting, LLC
2009 – Arthur McFerrin, Jr., President of KMCO, L.P.
2008 – Patrick J. Marantette, President of E.T. Horn Company
2007 – Richard A. Peacock, President of PVS-Nolwood Chemicals, Inc.
2006 – Stephanie Burns, Chairman, President, and CEO of Dow Corning Corporation
2004 – Michael Campbell, President, CEO, and Chairman of Arch Chemicals, Inc.
2003 – Laura Dornbusch, President of Expo Chemical Company, Inc. and M. Blouke Carus, Chairman of Carus Corporation
2002 – Audley C. Harlow, retired Executive Director of the Canadian Association of Chemical Distributors (CACD)
2001 – Mark Kramer, Senior Vice President – Industrial Chemicals East of Vopak USA
2000 – J. Roger Hirl, President & CEO of Occidental Chemical Corporation
1999 – A. Wayne Tamarelli, Chairman & CEO of Dock Resins Corporation and G. Stephen Robins, President of G.S. Robins & Company
1998 – Earnest W. Davenport, Jr., Chairman & CEO of Eastman Chemical Company
1997 – Robert A. Roland, retired President of the Chemical Manufacturers Association
1996 – Jean Belanger, retired President of the Canadian Chemical Producers Association and John R. Hess, Chairman of John R. Hess & Company, Inc.
1995 – John Johnstone, retired CEO and Chairman of Olin Corporation